I'm looking
for help...
Aidpage is free!

Free downloads: GrantGate®  Federal Money Retriever®

Developmental Disabilities Basic Support and Advocacy Grants

Published on AidPage by IDILOGIC on Jun 24, 2005

Administered by:

Who is eligible to apply...

State grant agencies are the designated State agencies of the respective States, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, Virgin Islands, Guam, Northern Mariana Islands, American Samoa. Under the basic developmental disabilities program, the designated State agency must not provide or pay for services to individuals with developmental disabilities, unless it has held such designation on the date of the enactment of the Developmental Disabilities Assistance and Bill of Rights Act Amendments of 1994, and the Governor of the State (or the legislature, where appropriate and in accordance with State law) determines prior to June 30, 1994, not to change the designation of such agency. The State can only receive funding under the basic developmental disabilities program if it is also participating in the protection and advocacy program. The agency designated to implement the State system under the protection and advocacy program cannot provide or pay for services to individuals with developmental disabilities, and that agency must have authority to obtain access to records of individuals with developmental disabilities.

Eligible Applicant Categories:
Eligible Functional Categories:

Costs will be determined in accordance with 45 CFR 74 and 92.

Note:This is a brief description of the credentials or documentation required prior to, or along with, an application for assistance.

About this section:

This section indicates who can apply to the Federal government for assistance and the criteria the potential applicant must satisfy. For example, individuals may be eligible for research grants, and the criteria to be satisfied may be that they have a professional or scientific degree, 3 years of research experience, and be a citizen of the United States. Universities, medical schools, hospitals, or State and local governments may also be eligible. Where State governments are eligible, the type of State agency will be indicated (State welfare agency or State agency on aging) and the criteria that they must satisfy.

Certain federal programs (e.g., the Pell Grant program which provides grants to students) involve intermediate levels of application processing, i.e., applications are transmitted through colleges or universities that are neither the direct applicant nor the ultimate beneficiary. For these programs, the criteria that the intermediaries must satisfy are also indicated, along with intermediaries who are not eligible.